SQL select varchar substring from middle of varchar

I recently had to pull out a substring from a larger string in SQL.  The problem was that I required 7 digits from an 20 digit varchar value.

So, the id field contained:

1928P746781S3390W563

and I wanted the 7 digits from the middle of the varchar as highlighted in bold below:

1928P746781S3390W563.

 

The following SQL statement achieved this for me:

SELECT substring(id from 11 for 7) as new_id from persons.

This left me with a value of S3390W5.

Leave a Reply

